Nixing UNR 9.04

Well, after a few weeks of using Ubuntu Netbook Remix 9.04 I have decided to pull it off my Mini.  It was nice having later versions of software but, really, the usability wasn’t there.  Namely there were the following problems.

  • Video is far slower under UNR 9.04 vs. Dell’s 8.04.
  • Touchpad was too jerky.  While there are answers for this they are PPA only and not incorporated into mainline yet.
  • Wireless networking would die after a few hours of usage and not return, even after manually bouncing the interface.

So I’m going to leave 9.04 on here but default back to booting into 8.04.  Well, actually, I just learned that the repositories for LPIA has 9.04 hiding in it.  I’m going to back up my present 8.04 partition onto the UNR 9.04 one then update the LPIA 8.04 to 9.04 to see if I can get the best of both, stable hardware support and the later versions.

I’m also considering swapping from GNome to KDE.  Really, I’ve given GNome a fair shake.  This machine can easily handle KDE (in spite of what some young’uns might think) and GNome is just annoying the pants offa me.

One response to “Nixing UNR 9.04

  1. Pingback: Dell Mini 10v after 6 Months « L.A.G.

Leave a Reply

