To Kindle My Nook…

My wife loves her Kindle.  So much so that she’s giving it the heave-ho and getting a trophy-Kindle.  In a fun twist we are going through role reversal on the tech hand-me-downs.  Normally she gets the tech toys of which I have tired but this time it is she that is asking if I want dibs on her old Kindle 2.

Thus far I have gotten by with Kindle on other platforms.  First by wrangling Kindle for PC to work under Linux on my Dell Mini.  More recently it has been with the Kindle app for Android.  So, strictly speaking, I really don’t need a Kindle.  It would be nice.

On the other hand I haven’t given up on my plans for a Nook.  I still order all my tree-killing books via B&N.  So it naturally follows that I would prefer to obtain my electron-killing books via the same source.  My wife, naturally, disagrees.

But in this internal debate I have been giving consideration to a third option.  The Kindle 2 & Nook represent a lightweight device w/6″ screen upon which I could read books in electronic format.  Both cost around $150-$170 for the Wifi only version.  Both are locked in the format they can read.  Meanwhile I have a device which can read both, right now.  My Droid.  Why not look for a 6″-7″ variation thereof?  The first person to mention the iPad gets slapped.  Seriously.

A few minutes of searching yielded two possible results.  First up is the Gentouch, an Android 2.1 device with a 7″ screen for $150.  Only problem is they are sold only at K-Mart and are currently sold out until late August.  Then there is the Archos 7 based on Android 1.5 and coming in at $200.  By the end of the year there are supposed to be several tablets available under the $200 price point, most running Android 2.1 or higher.

The more I think about it the more appealing it becomes.  My main gripe about reading on my Mini is that it isn’t as portable and easy to handle as a book.  Meanwhile my Droid, awesome as it is, is too small for long-term reading.  My wife raves about the eInk display on her Kindle and daylight reading.  I work nights and am an indoor geek.  I rarely read out-of-doors, let alone during the day.  So while I normally think specialized devices are better for the tasks for which they are designed I am finding it hard to want any eReader for $150 when I could spend the same on a Gentouch and get the functionality of 2 eReaders along with all of the other apps written for Android.

Given that the Gentouch is out-of-stock, and not without some problems detailed in different reviews, I think right now I might take up my wife’s offer of the use of her Kindle 2.  Use it for a few months until a decent Android based tablet comes out.  🙂

6 responses to “To Kindle My Nook…

  1. I’m with your wife on this one. I love my Kindle too, and though I’ve also considered giving my husband my Kindle 2 as a hand me down for the new “trophy” Kindle, I’ve since changed my mind after seeing that the biggest difference seems to be the WiFi. Internet browsing is definitely not its strength, so I don’t really see the need for it. The other factors like lighter weight, more memory, darker fonts, etc are nice, but my current Kindle works just fine and serves me well. I also have the Kindle app on my iPod touch, and I use both. I will read on the iPod when it’s dark, if I’m on the go, or in an inconvenient situation like standing on the bus. Nothing beats the actual reader when I’m at home and comfy though, eInk is fantastic on the eyes. The awesome thing is that Kindle will sync between all my devices if I turn the setting on, so I never have to find my place whenever I switch between my iPod or Kindle.

    I know you’re set on an Android device…but really, I can’t stress the comfort or awesomeness of eInk. Like I said, I agree with your wife and her eInk raving, I’m a huge fan of it too. I stare at a computer screen all day, so it’s a nice break when I’m reading on my Kindle.

    I don’t know too much about the Nook, but does it use eInk technology or something like that too? I was in a B&N the other day and looked over its list of features. Seems similar to Kindle, except for the “lending” feature that sounds really neat.

    • I have read a few books on my wife’s Kindle when she first got it. The device is fantastic. I’m not raving about eInk but don’t oppose it, either. I’ve been geeking it up since the time when computers hooked into the TV set. 😉

      The Nook and the Kindle are pretty much the same. Both use eInk licensed from the same company. The Kindle has a tad larger internal memory, the Nook has an SD slot so it technically has more memory. Both have Wifi and 3G/Wifi options. The Nook has an LCD for full color book buying, the Kindle a chicklet keyboard. Kindle runs Linux, Nook layers Android on top of it. Hardware wise you can’t go wrong with either.

      I’m opposed to the Kindle mostly because I carry a long-standing grudge against Amazon (11 years and counting, booya!). Well that and their DRM is facepalmingly bad. I wouldn’t mind so bad if we could place the devices on more than one account. B&N’s a tad better with the lending feature but not by much. I won’t go more into that, I think I have a blog posting about the DRM foibles elsewhere. 🙂

  2. I guess if both you and your wife want to have separate accounts, it would not be possible to share books. My husband and I both use the same one though, and have 4 devices associated with it (his blackberry, his ipad, my ipod, my kindle) and it’s worked great for us. With Amazon books, we just have to make sure not to sync to furthest page read so we don’t mess up the other person’s spot 😛

    Admittedly, not having separate accounts doesn’t really bother me since I’m the one who uses it the most and I’m the one who buys the books (my husband, on the other hand, has a large collection of non DRM books he has already which he just transfers into the devices he uses to read with) For this reason, the one thing I cannot understand about the Kindle 2 is why they got rid of the SD slot. Like you mentioned, Nook has it, the first generation Kindle had it, and it’s a great thing to have for people with a huge collection of books. I was really pissed that they nixed it.

    • I’m leaning towards that myself. My wife has purchased something like 100+ books since getting her Kindle 2 a year and a half ago(?). In the same time I’ve purchased, uhm… 10? A better way to put it is that she has purchased more books I’ve also ended up reading than I have purchase books at all. So if she can put up with my David Weber fixation tainting her recommendations then it just makes sense for us to use her account and, by extension, be Kindle people.

      It’s just.. ungh. Amazon! Why Amazon! GRRrrrRRRrrr… *…and there was much wailing and gnashing of teeth from Grey…*

  3. Pingback: 2 Weeks With a Tablet « L.A.G.

Leave a Reply

