And They Say PC Gaming is Dead.

At the beginning of Valve’s Holiday sales I figured I easily had broken the 100 game mark in my Steam list.  Little did I know that I had broken that amount a tad before the holiday sales.  As of right now (12/31) I have 156 games in my Steam list.  I started the Christmas sale with under 116.  So 50 games added in the past two or so weeks.

My XBox360 library pales in comparison.  GTAIV, 3 Tomb Raider games, Rock Band 1 & 2 (soon to have 3), Batman: Arkham Asylum, Bayonetta, Mirror’s Edge, The Force Unleased (bleck), DMC4 (ungh), DAO (ungh), Mass Effect (ew), and a couple of games I borrowed from a friend.  About 15 games total with a good 4-5 of them games that I wish I had never wasted my time playing.  Another 4-5 games I could just as easily purchased on the PC.

There’s a lot of newer games in there.  Games I would not otherwise have purchased.  Fallout 3 + New Vegas or Just Cause 2.

Obviously there’s a lot of older games in there, too.  Most of them were purchased in a bundle.  For example the X-Com series was bundled up.  Not a bad deal for a gamer like me nor the company.  I get a fresh copy of a beloved game (I cut my PC Gaming teeth on Railroad Tycoon and X-Com) and the companies that put these older games up for sale get additional revenue from them.

It is these older games where the PC market shines.  It is a common argument against PC gamers by console gamers that we stick with the older games.  But look at it from the developer and publisher’s perspective.  In console gaming Game Stop has a lock on the used console gaming market.  Consoles games make their money solely on initial sales.  After that used sales take over.  No so on the PC.  I just purchased, or was gifted, 50+ games and XPacks in the past few weeks.  Games from 10 years old to released just last month.  Every game purchase is money that goes to the publisher and developer. Sure, we PC gamers might hold tight to our older games but they sure love us for it.  😉

2 responses to “And They Say PC Gaming is Dead.

  1. “As of right now (12/31) I have 156 games in my Steam list. I started the Christmas sale with under 116. So 50 games added in the past two or so weeks.”

    Wow, nice! I’m curious to see what you have on your list.

    And you know what, I just realized I don’t have you on Steam. Feel free to add me up, my username should be MMOGC.

Leave a Reply

