Secular Rituals

I’m a tad backlogged on my Non-Prophets and Godless.biz podcasts.  As such I have only just now gotten to Non-Prophets 10.2.  In it there was a discussion about secular rituals.  Specifically about replacing religious ones and the difficulties of doing so without a central authority.  Now, ignoring the plethora of national holidays and the rituals they present (fireworks on the 4th, nuff said) I could think of one secular ritual in which I participate.  A ritual I am willing to bet a good portion of Atheists in America participate.

House warming.

I’ve thrown several and have attended several.  Nary a religious notion in site.  Just groups of people gathering to celebrate obtaining a home and/or welcoming a new neighbor to the area.

Leave a Reply

