Lackluster Zone – Enedwaith

With Teese finally capped at 65 I have been working on the two end zones of Lord of the Rings Online.  The first, Mirkwood, is as the name implies, mirky.  It is an annoying zone as it is constantly shrouded in darkness.  A stylistic choice I may not like but at least the zone itself appears solid.

Enedwaith, on the other hand, is absolutely gorgeous.  Rolling hills, steppes, great ambiant sounds and best of all, not dark! Once I found this zone I dropped Mirkwood like a hot ‘tater and starting cranking out the quests.

However as of late the zone has been grating on me.  Not because of the stylistic choices that Turbine made but because the zone feels poorly constructed.  The quests are all there, the hubs nicely laid out and the story lines are interesting.  But the mobs look like they were placed on a grid.  They’re all evenly spaced.  No chance of a multi-pull and they’re far enough apart that I can run from one end of the zone to the other and with minimal juking never aggro anything.  The front third of the zone might not have it but in the plains it is easy to see.

Secondly, since one of my toons is a woodworker I primarily track and collect wood.  The mallorn scattered throughout the zone is poorly placed.  At least a tenth of them are floating above the ground.  I’ve seen one where there was only the barest hint showing above ground.

I really do prefer Enedwaith’s atmosphere.  But the feeling that it was rushed, that the spawn of mobs and resources, was laid out with a simple algorithm breaks my immersion and really dampens any enthusiasm I have for the zone.  Hopefully Turbine will make adjustments to make the zone feel more organic.

Leave a Reply

