KUbuntu, I am disappoint!

Well, this is a first.  Last night KUbuntu 11.04 was released.  I upgraded my Vaio laptop from 10.10 to 11.04.  At the end of it I was greeted with a grub rescue prompt.  Whu-wha-what!?  For the first time in almost 20 years the upgrade procedure of a Debian derivative has failed me!

Fortunately I had other machines with which to query the all-knowing Google.  The answer was fairly well documented.  Get a LiveCD ISO, toss it on a USB stick, boot to it, chroot over to the HD and reinstall grub.

Problem, no USB stick to be seen.  In an embarrassing turn of events the geek son had to ask the non-geek mom for a loaner USB stick.  Ungh.

But, alas, all is well.  The reinstall of grub went fine and my trusty Vaio is now running 11.04.

2 responses to “KUbuntu, I am disappoint!

  1. I have a confession to make. One of your USB sticks is sitting here on my desk at work. =P

Leave a Reply

