Samson – 2006 to May 18th, 2011

5 years ago my wife and I became ferret owners.  Our first was a kit bought from Petco.  Later on we rescued two ferrets, Samson and Aesa.  Samson was the eldest of our three ferrets.  When we rescued him our vet estimated his age as 2 or 3 years.  So this year he was 7 or 8.  Tonight Samson is no longer with us.  My wife came upstairs to give Aesa and Fex there medication.  Samson came out of the cage, went near my desk and started to make odd noises.  She called me upstairs but there was nothing we could do but hold him as he passed.

He was our ferret ambassador.  The sweetest, most loving of our ferrets.  He loved to snuggle with anyone who would pick him up.  If we knew someone had never been around ferrets before we always let them hold Samson.  He melted hearts.  He certainly stole ours.

A few years ago we had a close call with him.  He had ingested some hard plastic and wasn’t able to pass it.  As a result he had to have surgery.  He made it through ok but it was the first time I had to face the real possibility of one of my ferrets dying.  At the time I wrote, ” I know he won’t be with us much longer, a year or two at the most.  But I want those years with him.  I’m not ready to let him go just yet.  Heck, I dunno if I’ll ever be ready to let any of our ferrets go.”  We had almost two more years with him.  For that I am immensely grateful.  I wanted those years with him in my life.  I was right, I wasn’t ready to let him go.  I’m still not.  But it isn’t up to me.

Samson Sleeping

4 responses to “Samson – 2006 to May 18th, 2011

  1. Sorry to hear about Samson. For a ferret it seems he lived a very full and happy life, and he was very fortunate to rescued by such a loving family. RIP.

    • He did. I even made sure to take him out to play in the snow this past winter. I mean every ferret has to see snow at least once, right? Especially here in Vegas.

  2. Pingback: Aesa – 2006 – Aug. 6th, 2011 | L.A.G.

  3. Pingback: Fex – March 9th, 2006 to September 14th, 2011 | L.A.G.

Leave a Reply

