A Tale of Two Combat Systems

As I’m sure everyone knows by now Funcom’s Age of Conan has gone F2P.  A good move, I approve.  Because of this I decided to give it another go.  I popped back onto my trial toon, a level 5 Dark Templar, and started mucking about.  After about 10 minutes I was ready to throw things at my monitor in frustration.  Why?  Because I play a Warden in LotRO.

LotRO’s Warden uses a system called Gambits.  You have 3 basic moves (Spear, Shield, Fist) which combine into special moves, Gambits.  Once you’ve built a Gambit you can fire it off with another button press.  So, for example, if I want to put a DoT on the mob I am fighting I would do Spear, Shield, Fist then fire off the Gambit.  I need to place a HoT on myself?  Shield, Spear, Shield, execute.  Taunt an enemy?  Fist, Spear, execute.  The system is very fluid, quite challenging and excellently tuned to a keyboard MMO player such as myself as I never need more than 5-6 keys to access all of my powers.  I just have to remember all the sequences.

In AoC they have combo moves.  In AoC you have 3 basic moves (at the start).  They correspond with the direction of your attacks.  Upper Left, Upper Right, Middle.  To execute a combo you need to chain those basic moves together.  Sounds like the Warden, right?  Slight difference, you have to choose the combo you want to execute ahead of time.  For a keyboarder like me this is horrible since 1-3 are taken up by the normal moves.  I have to mouse click the combos I want.  Clunky as hell once you’ve had any experience with LotRO’s Warden.

Now, if I’m wrong and there’s a way to do the LotRO style I’d love to be proven wrong.  I could probably go far in AoC if that’s the case.  But without that I can’t see AoC being something I could enjoy.  It saddles the worst aspect of traditional MMOs (tons of skills, limited keyboard space) with an additional system which doesn’t help in any way.

One response to “A Tale of Two Combat Systems

  1. To be honest, I can’t say I’m a big fan of sequences in general and am glad I played a Minstrel in LOTRO. I also played a healer in AoC, a Priest of Mitra so I was spared the sequence combat system there too. I guess technically combination moves can work for casters, but I haven’t seen anything like it yet.

Leave a Reply

